Biography

I was born in Italy in 1984, and grew up in a small village right before the Alps (here).

In 2004, I started to study Computer Science (CS) at the University of Venice. During my bachelor, I’ve studied for six months at the University of Vienna and worked for a few months as a developer for a big Italian bank. I graduated in 2007 with a final score of 110/110 cum laude.

After my bachelor, I moved to the Netherlands to follow a Master in Artificial Intelligence at the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam. During my studies, I worked as a research assistant and developed some small projects inside the CS department (e.g. I wrote a ISO9660 driver for Minix). I graduated in 2009 cum laude and with a GPA of about 9/10.

Then, I started a PhD program in Computer Science at the same university under the supervision of professors Henri Bal and Frank van Harmelen. In 2010, I visited for a few months the Yahoo! Research Labs In Barcelona. In 2013, I finished my PhD graduating cum laude. My PhD thesis is about performing reasoning over large amounts of structured data on the Web using distributed algorithms.

In the same year, I was being awarded a prestigious personal grant by the Dutch National Research Council, which allows me to continue my research for three more years. In 2014, I moved to California to be a visiting scholar at Stanford University, and more precisely in the Stanford Center for Biomedical Informatics Research. Then, I spent some time as researcher at the Max-Planck Institute for Informatics in Germany, which is an institution that I’m still affiliated with. Currently, I’m an assistant professor at the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam.

My wife gives big fines to companies that misbehave. My children play, eat, and sleep.